Battle of Las Vegas (or, 4th of July, 2015)

A panoramic view of fireworks exploding over Las Vegas. The fact that some fireworks resemble the firepower seen in videotape of the attacks on Baghdad, plus the idea that I couldn’t tell the legitimate fireworks from the amateur variety made me a bit edgy this 4th of July. The bombs (fireworks are a type of bomb) blew up directly over me both while I was shooting and while driving home. I felt like I was trying to escape the bombing of Saigon!

IMG_0448My cat was in the stalking position when I arrived at my condo. He calmed down after I had been there for an hour. Well, in spite of the tenseness, got some decent video out of it. Some of the fireworks remind me of paintings and attempts by movie makers to portray the rapture. Except, instead of the souls going to heaven, they explode mid-point and rain down over Vegas. The tense drive home and the nervousness of my cat made me appreciate the wisdom of the No Fireworks ordinance in Long Beach, CA (the city I just moved from).

IMG_0494Happy 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

